Or Call: 303-469-4529
Or Call: 303-469-4529
At Community Driving School, our state-certified, 30-Hour classroom course is unlike anything else out there. Our class covers everything required by the state. Not much sitting around and daydreaming goes on here while you learn to drive.
In addition, we’ve teamed up with Action Karting to create our Go-Kart program where students actually practice the important skills discussed in class. This two-hour program is key to integrating many important, Colorado defensive driving skills talked about in the class and it provides hands-on learning. Plus, it’s just plain fun! (Instead of talking about driving, we’re actually doing it.) For some students, this will be their first time driving a motorized vehicle. We like that it’s done in a controlled, safe environment.
You can purchase the Skills Day (which includes go-karting with any package or buy our “Ultimate Package” for the best deal.
At the end of the class, your teen will be issued a 30 Hour Certificate of Completion. The DMV will need this certificate when your teen applies for their learner’s permit. As well, if your teen is, at least, 14 years old and 11 months old, they will be eligible to take the Colorado Written Permit Test. If they pass, they’ll be issued a Certificate of Completion for the Colorado Written Knowledge Test (Permit Test).
These state certificates are part of the documents they’ll need when they go into the DMV to get their Denver, Colorado driver’s permit issued once they are 15 years old. Once your student is the required age they can take the State of Colorado’s written permit test Monday – Friday at our Golden and Lakewood location from 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. or in Westminster at 4:30 p.m. on any day when the class is being taught.
Once your student is the required age they can take the State of Colorado’s written permit test at our Golden, Lakewood, and Westminster locations.
Our Denver driving classes can be taken as close together or as far apart as you choose. Early registration is suggested as our classes fill quickly.
If your teen is starting the Graduated Driver’s License process between 14-1/2 and 15-1/2 years old, the DMV requires proof that your teen has completed thirty hours of Driver’s Ed either online or in the classroom. (We have both options.) At the end of each class, our programs includes two attempts at the permit test as part of the class.
Once they reach the required age, they’re invited to come back anytime to the Golden or Lakewood locations Monday through Friday, 8AM – 5PM to take their Colorado Driver’s Permit Test in the quiet of our office or in Westminster at 4:30 p.m. on any day when the class is being taught. Please refer to the class schedule for those dates. When they pass, you will be emailed a completion form to the email that is associated on their pre-registration code. The completion form that you can take to the DMV where they’ll get their Colorado Driver’s Permit issued.
Once the permit is issued, they’re required to drive for a full 365 days before taking the Colorado Drive Test for their license. They’ll also be required to keep a driving log to validate fifty hours of Behind-the-Wheel driving time (with at least ten of those hours at night). Additionally, the state requires every teen to take six hours of Colorado Behind-the-Wheel training if they apply for their license prior to turning 16-1/2 years old.
The Colorado DMV now requires all students to pre-register their personal information with the State of Colorado before completing your 4 Hour Driver Awareness course. This allows you to confirm which documents you will bring to the DMV when it’s time to get your teen’s driver’s permit issued. While a bit of a hassle up front, it should streamline the process of obtaining your permit at the DMV.
PLEASE NOTE: If you already have a Colorado ID card, you can skip this step. Just make sure to bring your Colorado ID card to the class. If you already have a pre-registration code, please have your teen bring it with them at the beginning of class. If you do not have a pre-registration code, please follow the directions below to obtain one. You must have a pre-registration code to complete your course and take the permit test.
HOW DO I GET A PRE-REGISTRATION CODE?
If you need to obtain a pre-registration code please follow the steps below.